The 1st Chakra - Root Chakra

Posted by Hunter Wilson on

The root chakra is the first of seven chakra. Its energy is based on the ground, earth, minerals, and roots of all plant life. It’s associated with the feeling of safety, grounding, and solidity. 

The first chakra or root chakra is located at the base of the spine, or at the bottom of your main torso. The physical locations on the body are along the first three vertebrae, at the pelvic plexus, or bottom of the spine. This chakra is often shown as a cone or triangle of energy starting at the bottom of the spine and going downward and then turned up.

The first chakra is associated with these characteristics:

  • Security
  • Safety
  • Survival
  • Basic Maslow needs (food, sleep, shelter, self-preservation, sex)
  • Physical identity and aspects of self
  • Foundation for living our lives

What happens when the first chakra is imbalanced?

  • Excessive negativity, cynicism
  • Eating disorders
  • Greed, avarice
  • Illusion
  • Excessive feeling of insecurity, living on survival mode constantly

On the same line when your root chakra is over stimulated, fear might turn into greed and paranoia, which are extreme forms of manifestation of imbalance in the first chakra. Issues with control over food intake and diet are related to it.

The first chakra governs the bladder, kidneys, lower extremities, and spine. When there is an imbalance, you can experience physical symptoms that include:

  • constipation
  • weight issues
  • fatigue
  • back pain
  • insecurity
  • poor decision making
  • anxiety
  • detachment

Ways to balance your root chakra:

  • Stand up for a few minutes
  • Taking a shower or bath to cleanse your body and rinse away dirt and negative energies
  • Physical movement - cleaning, stretching, or other slow movements
  • Walking - around your house, your neighborhood, or anywhere possible
  • Wearing the color red or using it in the decor around your immediate area, or area you spend time in (here's a few ideas for chakra-balancing)
  • Meditating and focusing on your root and the color red
  • Dancing - in any way you know or feel is right
  • Yoga - with a focus on root poses: Tree, Eagle, Mountain, Downward-Facing Dog, Wide-Legged Forward Bend